Survivor

I used to watch TV. It was a long time ago. The only show I really watched was Survivor. OK, maybe I got sucked into Lost for a couple of seasons.

One day I got the bright idea I would send in my video application to be on the show. There I was, camcorder and guitar in the studio making my under three minute production of John Lennon’s ‘Working Class Hero’, with my revised Survivor lyrics. I sent it in.

The show called a while later. I’d made it into the top two percent. They complimented me on my brilliant performance.  They asked me if I wanted to be famous. I said, “Not really”. I lied.  Well, sort of. I was ambivalent, really.

Apparently, that was the wrong answer. They never called back. Had I said, “Fuck yeah! Worship me, bitches!” , which I’m guessing was the appropriate response, I might have had half a million dollars in my pocket and quit smoking in the process. What can you do? No do overs in life, eh? I think this is about the time I lost all interest in television.

“As soon as you’re born, they make you feel small….”

Posted on February 23, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

